

# ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

The ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING of the British Thoracic Society will be held on Tuesday 23 November 2021 at 4.30PM virtually on Zoom.

Please register in advance via Zoom



Better lung health for all

#### **BRITISH THORACIC SOCIETY ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING**

### Tuesday 23 November 2021 at 4.30pm by Zoom

Please register in advance on Zoom

After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing more information about joining the AGM.

Please send apologies to bts@brit-thoracic.org.uk

#### AGENDA

The Society's President, Dr Graham Burns, will be in the Chair.

- Apologies for absence
- 2. **Minutes** of the Annual General Meeting (AGM) held on Wednesday 2 December 2020 (Paper 1)
- 3. **Matters arising** from the minutes if not elsewhere on the agenda.
- 4. Report from the Chair of the Board of Trustees
- 4.1 Professor Jon Bennett will give a brief overview of activities during the year.
- 5. **Report from the Honorary Treasurer**
- 5.1 Report and financial statements for the period ended 30 June 2021 (Paper 2)

Members are referred also to the Annual Report from the Board of Trustees which can be found here: <a href="https://www.brit-thoracic.org.uk/about-us/governance-documents-and-policies/">https://www.brit-thoracic.org.uk/about-us/governance-documents-and-policies/</a>

- 5.2 Investments
- 5.3 Membership Fees for 2022, including the ERS membership annual fee for BTS members
- 5.4 Delegate rates for Meetings in 2022
- 5.5 Appointment of auditors for 2021/2022
- 6. Report from Editors of *Thorax* and British Open Respiratory Research (BMJORR)
- 6.1 The annual reports from the Editors-in-Chief are enclosed. (Papers 3a and 3b)
- 7. Office Bearers and Trustees
- 7.1 President and President-elect 2022

The Honorary Secretary will report. Following the call for nominations in the summer of 2021, **Professor Onn Min Kon** was nominated and was returned unopposed. He will serve as

President-elect with effect from the AGM in November 2021, serving as President for one year from the AGM in November 2022. Mrs Rachael Moses will serve as President in 2022.

#### 7.2 Chair of BTS Board

The Honorary Secretary will report. Following due process and in accordance with the Society's constitution, Dr Paul Walker was selected as Chair-elect in 2020. He will take up post with effect from the AGM, having shadowed Professor Jon Bennett during 2021.

# 7.3 **Honorary Secretary**

The post of Honorary Secretary is advertised in the year before the current incumbent demits office, as required by the Society's constitution. This allows for effective handover to take place during the coming year. The post has been advertised and a report will be provided.

#### 7.4 Chair of the Science and Research Committee

Following due process and in accordance with the Society's constitution, Professor James Chalmers was appointed as the Chair of the Science and Research Committee and will take up post following the AGM.

# 7.5 Chair of the Quality Improvement Committee

Following due process and in accordance with the Society's constitution, Dr Mark Juniper was appointed as the Chair of the Quality Improvement Committee and will take up post following the AGM.

#### 8. Election of members of Council

Following the call for nominations, 6 people will join Council, serving from November 2021 until November 2024. 7 applications for 5 places on Council were received and an election was held. No election was held for the under 35 member.

Dr Robin Condliffe Dr Rebecca D'Cruz (the under 35 member) Dr Srinivasan Kootalai Professor Stephen Scott Dr Dominick Shaw Dr Sophie West

## 9 Votes of thanks

## 9.1 To all members of BTS.

#### 9.2 **Elected members of BTS Council** who will stand down at the AGM:

Dr Jay Suntharalingam Dr Ricardo Jose Mrs Lizzie Grillo Dr Kavita Dave Dr Alanna Hare Professor John Hurst

# 9.3 **Trustees** who will stand down at the AGM:

Professor Liz Sapey, Chair of the Science and Research Committee Professor Mick Steiner, Chair of the Quality Improvement Committee

# 9.4 **Officers** who will stand down at the AGM:

Dr Graham Burns, President Professor Jon Bennett, Chair

# 10. Any other business notified to the Chair or Secretary before the meeting

# 11. Date of next AGM

Wednesday 23 November 2022 (to be confirmed)

